homepage logo

The Sanibel School

By SANIBEL SCHOOL - | Dec 8, 2020

The Sanibel School, at 3840 Sanibel-Captiva Road, Sanibel, announces the following:


The results of the Annual Turkey Trot are as follows by placement:

– Eighth-grade boys: Luke Williams, Koi Pak and Anthony Fantauzzo

– Eighth-grade girls: Ava Camputaro

– Seventh-grade boys: Brady Sackman, Finley Wierda and James Doss

– Seventh-grade girls: Addy Nickerson, Sophie Allen and Aika Billheimer

– Sixth-grade boys: Orion Kaplan, Colton Schmidt and Charles Muddell

– Sixth-grade girls: Siena Young, Gia Lackenby and Jacqueline Chavez Santana

– Fifth-grade boys: Brooks Selby, Landon Rider and Yuan Bonhayag

– Fifth-grade girls: Karmindy Schafer, Isabella Rook and Lillian Hall

– Fourth-grade boys: Zane Kaplan, Timothy Bloetz and Jack Rand

– Fourth-grade girls: Sarah Rosinus, Mariia Z. and Aubrey Wilson

– Third-grade boys: Dylan Teets, Pierce Padgett and Jase Foster

– Third-grade girls: Chloe Selby, Turner Stewart and Angelina Roa

– Second-grade boys: Marc Wilson, Spencer Sultz and Ethan Doss

– Second-grade girls: Delaney Shankster, Finley Hall and Emily Rosinus

– First-grade boys: Pace Padgett, Fisher Stewart and Joshua Sorto Sanchez

– First-grade girls: Brynn Selby, Greysen Betten and Kaia Keating

– Kindergarten boys: Andrew Sultz, Parker Stewart and Artem K.

– Kindergarten girls: Gretel Sorto Sanchez, Leah Kukin and Silvia Martinez


The Lighthouse Leadership Team is an important part of the Sanibel Leadership Program.

The votes are in and the newest members for 2020 are:

– Eighth grade: Jenna Cook and Landon Williams

– Seventh grade: Casey Sackman and Kyler Kouril

– Sixth grade: Siena Young and Colton Schmidt

– Fifth grade: Lilly Hall and Rod Bell

– Fourth grade: Landon Markosky and Harrison Jones

– Third grade: Max Cantor and Turner Stewart


In September, the cross country team held tryouts after school for middle-schoolers, following by practices. Students then participated in area, regional and championship meets. Qualifying area meet scores are as follows: Caroline Muddell, 15:53.3; Siena Young, 16:20.1; Koi Pak, 15:07.7; Colton Schmidt, 14:58.5; Drew Barron, 14:15.1; Charles Muddell, 14:12.0; Orion Kaplan, 13:28.9; and Karsten Schafer, 12:16.9. One student, Karsten Schafer, qualified for state.


Both the boys’ and girls’ tennis teams won their first game against Six Mile Middle School due to forfeits. Neither team has cut any students this year, but they have chose their starting players.

For the boys’ team, Carter Sproles and James Silvania are the starting singles. Ronan Maughan and Luke Williams are the starting doubles.

For the girls’ team, Heidi Hall, Emily Kremenchucker and Siena Young are the starting singles. Sonia Otalvaro and Kayce Nette are the starting doubles.

For more information, call 239-472-1617 or visit sbl.leeschools.net.