homepage logo

Ruane, others win BOCC primary races

By NATHAN MAYBERG / nmayberg@breezenewspapers.com - | Aug 21, 2020

In the races for the Lee County Board of County Commissioners, the Republican primary on Aug. 18 for District 1 went to Sanibel Mayor Kevin Ruane who took 62 percent of the vote over Matlatcha resident Michael Dreikorn.

There is no Democratic Party challenger for the seat being vacated by Republican John Manning but there is a qualified write-in candidate, Kelsey Hotchkiss. The district includes the islands and Cape Coral.

In District 3, which covers Fort Myers Beach, Estero, Bonita Springs and part of Fort Myers, Republican primary voters chose incumbent Ray Sandelli over Village of Estero Trustee Nicholas Batos. Sandelli had 62 percent of the vote.

Sandelli will face Democrat Todd Truax in the General Election in which a write-in candidate, Molly Hannigan also qualified.

In District 5, Republican primary voters backed incumbent Frank Mann by the largest landslide of the county commissioner candidates. Mann garnered more than 67 percent of all ballots against the challenge of Steven Haas.

Mann will face Democratic Party challenger the Rev. Juan Gonzalez in the general election in which a write-in candidate, Kayley McHugh, also qualified. The district includes Fort Myers, North Fort Myers and Lehigh Acres.

According to the Lee County Supervisor of Elections Office, there were 110,172 total votes by mail, 27,017 votes at precincts on election day and 11,081 votes by early voting.

All results are unofficial until certified.