homepage logo

League names mayor as the ‘Municipal Official of 2020’

By CITY OF SANIBEL - | Aug 21, 2020


Sanibel Mayor Kevin Ruane was named the Florida League of Cities’ Municipal Official of 2020 and received the E. Harris Drew Municipal Lifetime Achievement Award at the FLC’s annual business meeting via Zoom. He was joined by his spouse, Doreen, during the presentation.

Presented annually, it is the league’s most prestigious award. Named for Supreme Court Justice E. Harris Drew — the man who coined the league’s motto of “Local self-government, the key to American democracy” — it recognizes and honors local elected officials who have made lasting and worthwhile contributions to the citizens of Florida through their efforts and dedication in the performance of their duties at the local level.

“It is truly an honor to be the recipient of this award and to find myself within ranks of all those nominated elected officials and those elected officials that have come before me,” Ruane said, adding “that my journey as an elected official has not been completed alone. I have had the support of my wife, my community and elected officials as well as elected officials around the state.”

The Sanibel voting delegate for the league, Ruane was appointed to serve on its Legislative Policy Committee and the Resolutions Committee and is the liaison for Lee County Mayors. He was awarded the 2017, 2019 and 2020 Florida League of Cities’ Home Rule Hero Award. In 2019, Ruane was nominated for the E. Harris Drew Municipal Official Lifetime Achievement Award.