homepage logo

Lions Club announces winners of annual scholarships

By Staff | Jul 22, 2020
Daisy Arensman
Suzanna DeCosta
Zachary Farst

The Sanibel Captiva Lions Club announced that its scholarship winners for the 2020-2021 school year are Daisy Arensman, Suzanna DeCosta and Zach Farst. One of the club’s founders, Francis Bailey initiated the endowment fund to provide the scholarships for post-secondary education to students who live or work on Sanibel or whose parents do.

A graduate of Fort Myers High School, Arensman will be a freshman at the University of Florida and plans to major in biology. DeCosta will be a junior at Rollins College, where she is pursuing a degree in English. A graduate of Cypress Lake High School, Farst will be freshman at Niagara University and plans to major in criminal justice.

The club reported that its members are pleased they can provide some financial assistance to the outstanding students. The club wishes all three success in their educations and future careers.

The club has been serving Sanibel and Captiva for over 50 years. While most known for its effort to eliminate preventable blindness, it serves islanders and Southwest Florida in a variety of ways.

For more information about the club, contact Membership Chair Steven Schulz at P.O. Box 391, Sanibel, FL 33957 or at 239-233-6261, or visit online at “http://www.sanibelcaptivalionsclub.org”>www.sanibelcaptivalionsclub.org.