homepage logo

Candidates rounded out with close of qualifying

By Staff | Jun 23, 2020

With the qualifying period for the 2020 election coming to a close earlier this month, there are a number of county, state and federal races that islanders will find on their ballots this year.

On the local level, Republicans Michael J. Dreikorn and Kevin Ruane are vying for the Lee County Board of County Commissioners District 1 seat, along with write-in candidate Kelsey Hotchkiss.

For the Lee County School Board, at-large District 7 incumbent Cathleen O’Daniel Morgan is being challenged by candidates Pete Bohatch and Curt Sheard. School board races are non-partisan.

Lee County Sheriff Carmine Marceno is running to retain his seat against fellow Republican James A. Leavens, Democrat Robert M. Neeld, and NPA candidates Carmen McKinney and Coach Ray.

In the Lee County Property Appraiser’s race, Republicans Matt Caldwell and Matt Miller have their sights and hopes set on taking up the position, as well as write-in candidate Elaina Cosentino.

At the state level, Democrat Rachel Brown is joined by Republicans Heather Fitzenhagen and Ray Rodrigues in the Florida Senate District 27 race. For the House of Representatives, Republicans Adam Botana and Jason Maughan are vying for the District 76 seat, along with Democrat Anselm Weber.

On the federal level, the U.S. House of Representatives District 19 race has a field of candidates to choose from, including: Republicans Darren Aquino, Casey Askar, Byron Donalds, Dane Eagle, William “Fig” Figlesthaler, Randy Henderson, Daniel Kowal, Christy McLaughlin and Dan Severson; Democrats Cindy Lyn Banyai and David Holden; and Patrick Post, who is running as a write-in.

In addition, with the close of qualifying, the following candidates were elected unopposed:

– Captiva Erosion Prevention District, Seat 4: John E. Silvia

– Captiva Island Fire Control District, Seat 1: Sherrill Binford Sims

– Captiva Island Fire Control District, Seat 2: Jeffrey Brown

– Sanibel Fire and Rescue District, Seat 3: Jerry Muench

– Sanibel Public Library, Seat 2: Linda E. Estep

– Sanibel Public Library, Seat 5: Daniel Charles Moeder

– Sanibel Public Library, Seat 6: Nicole Decker-McHale

All of the above races are non-partisan.

The primary election is set for Aug. 18.

The general election is scheduled for Nov. 3.