homepage logo

Seahorse Festival Art Contest winners named

By Staff | Jun 16, 2020

PHOTO PROVIDED Seventh-grader Layla Samph took first place.

The Sanibel School PTA announced the winners of the annual Seahorse Festival Art Contest.

Officials reported that the festival was postponed earlier this year due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Part of the event preparations each year includes the art contest for the students at the Sanibel school.

Traditionally, the contest winners would be announced in conjunction with the festival. In addition, the winning artwork would be featured during the event, as well as on hats and shirts available for sale.

This year’s first place winner is seventh-grader Layla Samph.

The following second place winners were selected from the remaining grades:

– Kindergarten: Svea Cohen

– First grade: Addie Barron

– Second grade: Ava Wodjeski

– Third grade: Teagan Clark

– Fourth grade: Cash Martinson

– Fifth grade: Emmett Williams

– Sixth grade: Micah Baker

– Eighth grade: Ashton Broadwater