homepage logo

SCA holds annual meeting virtually

By Staff | May 6, 2020

The Sanibel Community Association held its Annual Meeting virtually on April 22.

The meeting was called to order by Executive Director Teresa Riska-Hall.

A motion was made to accept the minutes from the previous annual meeting, as well as the minutes from the board meeting on Feb. 26. A motion was also made to waive the reading of the treasurer’s report, but it was noted that The Community House lost almost $40,000 during the month of March.

The nominees for the 2020-21 board of directors were Anne Cooper, incumbent Darrin Grotrian, incumbent Babs Maughan, Jim McCallion, Don McDonald and Tom Sharbaugh. Ballots were emailed again this year, plus mailed to those with no email on file. All were elected for a three-year term.

In addition, Roger Grogman was elected president for a two-year term. After the meeting, the board voted for Shawn Shaffer as vice president, John Raho and Darrin Grotrian as co-treasurers, and Carol Townsley as secretary.

Those who were unable to attend but would like to donate to the building or operating fund can visit www.sanibelcommunityhouse.net or call 239-472-2155. The mortgage on the facility is $607,500. A donation of any amount will help keep staff employed; $1,500 pays the electric bill, $750 pays the garbage bill and $100 pays the pest control bill for one month. The mission of The Community House is to enrich community spirit through educational, cultural and social gatherings.