homepage logo

Golden Apple Teacher recipients announced

By Staff | Apr 1, 2020

The Foundation for Lee County Public Schools hit the road on March 12 and surprised the six recipients with the Golden Apple Teacher Award.

Program sponsors, selection committee and foundation board members took part in shining the spotlight on the outstanding performance the profound teachers do for the education system and their students.

The 2020 Golden Apple Teacher recipients are:

– Jaclyn Baker, with Three Oaks Middle

– Brittany Camp, with Cypress Lake High

– Mark Drew, with Ida S. Baker High

– Jennifer Nargi-Kida, with Villas Elementary

– Laurie Nelson, with Gulf Middle

– Nancy Rossi, with Gateway Elementary

The recipients are chosen after going through an extensive selection process which began in September with a community-wide invitation to nominate teachers from the School District of Lee County.

The six finalists were selected after completing a three-step process, which included a blind comprehensive application, observations in their classroom of their teaching style and skill, and personal interviews with the Golden Apple Selection Committee.

The recipients will be honored at a black-tie affair on April 17 at 5:30 p.m. at the Hyatt Regency at Coconut Point. The banquet will be broadcasted via NBC2 on April 19 at 7 p.m.

Tickets are $160 per person. To purchase them, contact 239-337-0433