homepage logo

Edison National Bank/Bank of the Islands earns award

By Staff | Oct 30, 2019

PHOTO PROVIDED Robbie and Geoff Roepstorff, center, are joined by the Lee County Board of County Commissioners and Horizon Council leaders at the Industry Appreciation Awards on Oct. 25.

Edison National Bank/Bank of the Islands was recognized with a 2019 Industry Appreciation Award from the Horizon Council and Lee County Economic Development Office at the awards program on Oct. 25 at the Hyatt Regency Coconut Point Resort and Spa in Bonita Springs.

It was named the Small Business of the Year – with up to 50 employees and six or more years in business in Lee County. The other finalists were ITVantage and Chris-Tel Construction.

The award was accepted by bank President Robbie Roepstorff and Chief Executive Officer Geoffrey W. Roepstorff. They attended the ceremony with staff members from the bank’s four offices.

“We are humbled to receive this recognition,” Roepstorff said. “Looking back on more than two decades of service, we feel we have a great perspective on where we have been and where we are going as a community bank. As Lee County continues to grow, the businesses and families choosing to be here will need banking services like ours. We’re constantly innovating, always working to find a better way to serve our customers and our community. We’ll be here for all of them, for many years to come.”

When it opened in 1997 under the leadership of Robbie and Geoff Roepstorff, Edison National Bank was the only locally-owned and chartered community bank in the county. It expanded in 1998, opening the Bank of the Islands offices.

The winners of the other awards included:

– Community Steward of the Year: Markham Norton Mosteller Wright & Company

– Startup of the Year: Creative Architectural Resin Products

– Innovator of the Year: AXI International

– Manufacturer of the Year: MY Shower Door/D3 Glass

– Large Business of the Year: Scotlynn USA Division

The winners were chosen for their innovation, integrity, product quality, community commitments and overall excellence in business and value to Lee County. The awards are an annual collaborative effort between the Horizon Council, Horizon Foundation and the Lee County Economic Development Office.