homepage logo

Ruane sworn in as Florida League of Mayors president

By Staff | Aug 20, 2019

Kevin Ruane

On Aug. 15, city of Sanibel Mayor Kevin Ruane was sworn in as the new president of the Florida League of Mayors during the organization’s annual business meeting in Orlando.

“I am truly honored to be selected by my fellow mayors to lead this organization for the next year,” he said. “We will focus on our goals of addressing water quality and quantity issues around the state, protecting home rule, and ensuring all cities have a seat at the table when discussing state issues.”

Only mayors are eligible for membership in the Florida League of Mayors, which was founded and developed by mayors. The organization provides the state’s mayors with the ability to explore areas of mutual concern and opportunity. Governed by a 51-member board of directors and staffed by the Florida League of Cities, the Florida League of Mayors forges a voice that serves the cities of Florida.

“Mayor Ruane has been an active and dedicated member of the Florida League of Mayors for many years,” Executive Director Scott Dudley said. “He’s definitely ready to lead this organization and its members into the next year as they continue to work together, share ideas and advocate for Home Rule. I’m looking forward to working with him in his new role as president.”

Ruane’s top priority that was approved unanimously by the board is to address water quality and quantity, addressing the ongoing need to fund and finish projects.

Since 2005, the Florida League of Mayors has served as the official nonpartisan organization representing mayors. As a membership-driven association, its primary duty is to ensure active advocacy and provide a platform for mayors to speak out on issues of interest to their cities and citizens.

Ruane has served on the Sanibel City Council since 2007. In 2010, he was appointed by his peers as mayor. Ruane is currently serving his 10th consecutive term as mayor.

Ruane is Sanibel’s voting delegate for the Florida League of Cities, serves on the FAST Team (Federal Action Strike Team), advocacy and nominating committees for the Florida League of Mayors and is liaison for Lee County’s mayors. He served as a board member of the Florida Municipal Insurance Trust from 2010-2015 and as chairman beginning in 2011. Ruane was again appointed to the FMIT’s board in 2017. He was appointed to serve on the Florida Municipal Insurance Investment Trust Committee in 2011 and currently serves as vice chair. Ruane is also a member of the Florida Municipal Pension Trust Fund, serving as vice chair, and is a director on the Florida Municipal Loan Council. He was appointed to serve on the Florida League of Cities’ legislative policy committee and resolutions committee.

Ruane currently serves as council liaison to the Metropolitan Planning Organization’s executive board, as the MPO treasurer. In 2014, he was appointed by Gov. Rick Scott to the South Florida Ecosystem Restoration Task Force, and Ruane was re-appointed to the task force by Gov. Ron DeSantis in 2019.

He has served as the council liaison to the audit committee, traffic work group, redevelopment project and Sanibel Seniors’ board of directors. Ruane has also previously served as liaison and alternate liaison to the planning commission, Sanibel General Employees’ pension board, employee dependent scholarship committee, contractor review board, Community Housing Resources’ board of directors and its Coast and Island Community Land Trust, Sanibel Municipal Officers’ board of trustees, the Sanibel and Captiva Islands Chamber of Commerce’s governmental affairs committee, charter review committee and Lee County Tourist Development Council. He also served as liaison to the Lee County Metropolitan Planning Organization from 2009-2016 as treasurer, member and president.

Ruane was awarded the 2019 and 2017 Florida League of Cities’ Home Rule Hero Award. In 2019, he was a finalist for the Florida League of Cities’ E. Harris Drew Award. In 2017 and 2015, Ruane was a finalist for the New-Press’ Public Servant of the Year. In 2016, he was recipient of the National Everglades Coalition’s James D. Webb award and chosen the 2016 Hometown Hero by Boy Scout Pack 1740. In 2015, Ruane was awarded the Citizen of the Year by the Committee of the Islands.