homepage logo

IWA elects members to board of directors

By Staff | Apr 20, 2019

The Island Water Association held its annual membership meeting on April 8.

Board President Dennis Berry and Ken Kouril were elected to their second two-year terms and Mike Boris was elected to his first two-year term. Boris replaces Paul Garvey, who retired after completing his third and final two-year term. Additionally, Treasurer Jeff Springer was elected to complete the second year of a two-year term for which he had been appointed to fill a vacancy in late 2018.

Highlights of the meeting included a review of IWA’s financial position by Springer. He explained that IWA has excellent liquidity, modest debt and controlled expense growth while maintaining the lowest water rates in Southwest Florida. Springer, along with IWA General Manager Diana Wilson, described reserves as healthy and growing which is essential given the age of the facility and the need to replace and modernize components. Future initiatives include developing a comprehensive multi-year capital improvements plan, educating members on the importance of water conservation and modernizing customer communications, including website, billing and newsletters.

At the conclusion of the meeting, the board met and elected officers for the year. Springer was elected president, Berry as secretary, Boris as treasurer, and Kouril and Dr. Bruce Neill as vice presidents.