homepage logo

DDWS scholarships’ application deadline set for March 31

By Staff | Mar 20, 2019

PHOTO PROVIDED Some of the “Ding” Darling Wildlife Society-Friends of the Refuge's 2018 scholarship winners with check presenters.

The application deadline for a number of scholarships from the “Ding” Darling Wildlife Society-Friends of the Refuge – ranging from $1,000 to $3,000 each – is scheduled for March 31.

High school seniors, college students and graduate students in or from Lee, Collier, Charlotte, Hendry and Glades counties who are pursuing degrees in environmental-related studies can apply.

The scholarships will be awarded at a special ceremony at the J.N. “Ding” Darling National Wildlife Refuge on Sanibel in June.

In its 13th year, the DDWS scholarship program presented its first awards in 2006 from Tarpon Bay Explorers, the refuge’s official recreation concession. To date, the program has awarded $116,700.

“Tarpon Bay Explorers started the program by offering two $1,000 scholarships in 2005,” DDWS Executive Director Birgie Miller said. “When four applicants turned out to be highly deserving, they doubled their commitment that year. Through the years, co-owner Wendy Schnapp has increased her annual contribution to $5,000 and has awarded 46 scholarships.

“We applaud Tarpon Bay Explorer’s commitment to conservation education, always generous support of the refuge, and effective seeding of a program that now annually awards up to $15,000 to local students,” she added.

For more information and applications, visit dingdarlingsociety.org/articles/student-scholarships.

It is still possible to honor friends and family members in 2019 with a conservation scholarship in their name. To learn more, contact Birgie Miller at 239-472-1100 ext. 4 or director@dingdarlingsociety.org.

Named scholarships to date for 2019 include:

– Richard Bailey Memorial Scholarships

– Mike and Terry Baldwin Scholarship

– Dr. Andrew and Laura Dahlem Scholarship

– Dr. H. Randall Deming Scholarship for Conservation and Environmental Studies

– Hans and Leslie Fleischner Scholarship

– Mary Elaine Jacobson Memorial Scholarship

– Francine Litofsky Scholarship

– Tarpon Bay Explorers Scholarships

– Jane Werner Environmental Scholarship