homepage logo

SIFC member earns both titles

By Staff | Feb 28, 2019

PHOTO PROVIDED Mary Laser receives the Sanibel Island Fishing Club's Captain of the Year and Angler of Year awards during the club's annual awards banquet and Christmas party. They were presented by President Warren Teigen, left, and Secretary Gary Biltgen.

Capt. Mary Laser won the Sanibel Island Fishing Club’s Captain of the Year award and Angler of Year award for the 2017-2018 season. One of the cornerstones of the club is the monthly member fishing outings; the angler with the most outing points is named Angler of the Year. During the season, the club developed a new award to recognize the captain who takes home the most outing points on their boat. The captains are the key to the outings’ success because they share their boat for the day and provide knowledge of local waters and methods of catching fish in a safe and conservation-minded manner. For the captain award, second place went to Capt. Duane Thurow and third to Capt. David Lewis. For the angler award, Gary Biltgen came in second place and David Lewis placed third.