homepage logo

Planning commissioners vote in new chair, vice chair

By Staff | Jan 29, 2019

TIFFANY REPECKI The Sanibel Planning Commission discusses the nomination and election of its new chair and vice chair at the Jan. 22 meeting.

The Sanibel Planning Commission elected its new chair and vice chair at its recent meeting, as well as welcomed two new commissioners appointed by the Sanibel City Council the week before.

On Jan. 22, the board voted unanimously for Commissioner Chuck Ketteman to serve as chair and Commissioner Roger Grogman to serve as vice chair on the dais. In addition, it was the first planning meeting attended by recently-appointed Commissioners Eric Pfeifer and Paul Nichols.

The city council appointed Pfeifer and Nichols at its Jan. 15 meeting to fill the seats vacated by Commissioners Phillip Marks and Dirk deWerff due to retirements. It also reappointed Grogman.

Also at the meeting, the commission selected who would work on the subcommittees.

Commissioner Karen Storjohann will serve as the chair for Capital Improvements, joined by Grogman and Nicholas. The Below Market Rate Housing subcommittee will be chaired by Grogman and include Storjohann and Pfeifer, while the Land Development Code will be chaired by Ketteman with Grogman serving as vice chair. Commissioner Matthew Kirchner will chair the Permitting Process subcommittee.

The commission also planned out the start of its city council liaison schedule, with Ketteman set to attend the February meeting, followed by Kirchner and Grogman. After, the seats will rotate the duty.

During the meeting, commission liaison Councilwoman Holly Smith reported that the seat of Commissioner Richard Johnson would soon be vacant as he would be filling Councilman Chauncey Goss’ seat on the council. Johnson and she were the only candidates to file paperwork for the March election; Goss did not seek re-election. Unopposed, she and Johnson claim the two open seats.

“So there will be another vacancy we’re filling for the planning commission,” Smith said.

Prior to the brief meeting adjourning, Community Services Director Keith Williams introduced the commissioners to some of the Sanibel Planning Department staffers they would be working with.