homepage logo

SCCF announces winner of annual Brush of Excellence drawing

By Staff | May 4, 2018

PHOTO PROVIDED Artist Jim Sprankle, Brush of Excellence chair Sandy Gross and winner Phil Weyman.

The Sanibel-Captiva Conservation Foundation named this year’s Brush of Excellence winner.

During the Earth Day event, Phil Weyman was chosen as the winner in our annual drawing for the Brush of Excellence Art Program.

Renowned wood carver Jim Sprankle gave SCCF a carving of a belted kingfisher after being chosen as the 2018 recipient of the SCCF “Ding” Darling Brush of Excellence Environmental Art Program.

Initiated in 2015, SCCF’s Brush of Excellence Program honors Darling’s legacy and recognizes environmental artists following in his footsteps.

Inspired by the gift of a paintbrush used by Darling in his Captiva studio, SCCF created the Brush of Excellence Program to keep alive the story of his relationship to SCCF’s founding and to encourage artists to help inspire environmental stewardship and introspection.

Previous recipients were painter Jaye Boswell and photographer Clyde Butcher.

The SCCF thanks everyone who participated in our third annual drawing.

Next year’s recipient will be announced at the SCCF’s annual meeting, set for Dec. 11.