homepage logo

10th Annual High School Musical Awards Monday

By Staff | May 4, 2018

The 10th Annual High School Musical Award ceremony is Monday, May 7, at the Barbara B. Mann Performing Arts Hall.

This year, students from seven high schools performed in musicals eligible for the awards.

Cape Coral High School (“All Night Strut!”)

Cypress Lake High School Center for the Arts (“Spamalot”)

Fort Myers High School (“All Shook Up”)

Ida Baker High School (“Footloose”)

Island Coast High School (“Sister Act”)

Lehigh Senior High School Center for the Arts (“Hairspray”)

North Fort Myers High Center for Arts and Media (“Mary Poppins”)

Scott Saxon, general manager of the Barbara B. Mann Performing Art Hall at FSW, started the High School Musical Awards in 2008 to recognize the students who put on these local school productions – whether they’re acting, playing in the orchestra, building the sets, making the costumes or helping out backstage.

“They put a lot of work into it,” Saxon says. “They rehearse every day. They practice every day. They need to be celebrated, too. It’s our local version of Broadway’s Tony Awards.”

Much like the Tony’s, each school will be performing one number from their musical during the award ceremony. The students will have spent the day in various workshops at the Barbara B. Mann Performing Arts Hall learning about all aspects of musical theater.

FSW will be awarding $1,500 scholarships to the winner of Outstanding Actress, Outstanding Actor, Outstanding Supporting Actress and Outstanding Supporting Actor.

The judging was conducted by local professionals in the performing arts industry who volunteered their time to attend all seven musicals.

The High School Musical Awards start at 7 p.m. May 7. Everyone is invited to attend. Tickets are $10 and can be purchased in advance through the Barbara B. Mann Box Office.