homepage logo

Mayor appointed to Florida Municipal Investment Trust board

By Staff | Apr 24, 2018

Kevin Ruane

Sanibel Mayor Kevin Ruane was appointed to the Florida Municipal Investment Trust Board of Trustees at its meeting on March 22.

The Florida League of Cities established the board in 1993. The trust is an interlocal governmental entity created under the laws of Florida to provide eligible units of local government with an investment vehicle to pool their surplus funds and to invest such funds into one or more investment portfolios under the direction and daily supervision of a chosen Investment Manager.

The board is made up of elected officials of municipalities who actively participate in the trust and provide oversight of the funds.

Ruane was appointed to the Sanibel City Council to serve an interim position for a vacant seat in February 2007. In May, he successfully ran for a permanent position on the council. He was re-elected in 2009 and appointed as vice mayor in 2009-2010. In 2010, Ruane was appointed as mayor. He was again re-elected in 2013 and 2017. He is currently serving his eighth consecutive term as mayor.

Ruane has served as the council liaison to the Audit Committee, Traffic Work Group, Redevelopment Project and Sanibel Seniors Board of Directors. He has also served as liaison and alternate liaison to the Planning Commission, Sanibel General Employees’ Pension Board, Employee Dependent Scholarship Committee, Contractor Review Board, Community Housing Resources Board of Directors, Community Housing and Resources Coast and Island Community Land Trust, Sanibel Municipal Officers Board of Trustees, Sanibel Captiva Chamber Governmental Affairs Committee, Charter Review Committee and Lee County Tourism Development Council. He also served as liaison to the Lee County Metropolitan Planning Organization from 2009 to 2016 as treasurer, member and president.

He currently serves as council liaison to the Metropolitan Planning Organization Executive Board as treasurer and was appointed by Gov. Rick Scott to the South Florida Ecosystem Restoration Task Force in 2014. He also serves on the Florida League of Mayors Board of Directors, Florida Municipal Pension Trust Board of Trustees, Florida Municipal Loan Council as a director and Florida Municipal Insurance Trust as a trustee. He further serves on the Florida League of Cities Legislative Policy and Resolutions Committee. He is the liaison for the Island Seniors Board of Directors and Traffic Management Work Group.

Ruane was named the 2015 Citizen of the Year by the Committee of the Islands and was chosen the 2016 Hometown Hero by Boy Scout Pack 1740. He was also the 2016 recipient of the National Everglades Coalition James D. Webb award. In 2017, Ruane was awarded the Florida League of Cities Home Rule Hero award.