homepage logo

Island Water Association elects new board

By Staff | Apr 24, 2018

PHOTO PROVIDED The 2018 Island Water Association board is made up of, from left, Maureen O'Brien, Paul Garvey, Bruce Neill, Dennis Berry and Ken Kouril.

At the annual meeting in April, members of the Island Water Association elected the directors for the coming term. Ralph Sloan, this past year’s president, retired from the board after having served five years. Maureen O’Brien was elected to her first two-year term, while Bruce Neill was re-elected to his second two-year term. The rest of the board consists of Paul Garvey, Ken Kouril and Dennis Berry. The officers for 2018 are Berry as president, Garvey as secretary, and O’Brien as treasurer. Incorporated in 1965, the association is a non-profit member-owned utility providing potable water to the Sanibel and Captiva. It is governed by a board of five volunteers, who may serve a total of three two-year terms.