homepage logo

Oasis Middle School wins big at STEAM Competition

By Staff | Mar 1, 2016

Students from the city of Cape Coral’s charter Oasis elementary and middle schools brought home a wealth of awards in a recent state technology competition.

Working collaboratively, 10 students from Oasis Elementary School and 17 students from Oasis Middle School attended the Florida State TSA (Technology Student Association) conference and competition along with approximately 1,600 other students from across the state of Florida. The combined team represented Oasis Middle School and competed in 28 events from Wednesday, Feb. 24, through Saturday, Feb. 27. Of those 28 events, the team placed in the top ten in the state in 19 of those events.

The 19 events were:

Biotechnology, CAD Foundations, Career Prep, Challenging Technology Issues, Community Service Video, Electrical Applications, Environmental Engineering, Forensic Technology, Geospatial Technology, Junior Solar Sprint, Medical Technology, Microcontroller Design/ Prepared Speech, Problem Solving, System Control Technology, Tech Bowl Written, Technical Design, Video Game Design, Website Design

Out of those events, they placed in the top 3 (and trophied) in 4. The trophies earned were: Geospatial-1st Place Tech Bowl Written- 2nd place Prepared speech- 3rd place

Video Game Design- 3rd place The team also earned a first place trophy in Overall Chapter spirit.

This is only the second year that Oasis has a chapter and they finished the weekend being ranked seventh overall in the state out of 35 in attendance. They competed against chapters who have more than twice the enrollment as Oasis, have been an affiliated chapter for over 10 years and have been ranked in the top three in the NATION.

The following students were in attendance at the competition; Parker Bloch Alexander Brea Diego Diecidue

Luke Driscoll Bradley Fischer Hailey Gassner MollyRose Kavanagh Brock Kubarek Christian Lumadue Nathan Macias Madalyn Moriarity Emma Osinski

Gabe Peralto Peyton Poulin Nicolas Quintana Robbie Reamer Michael Ricciardella Ryan Rusinko

Nick Schymalla Rick Schymalla Lawrence Signore Christopher Steib Josef Steib

Travis Steiner Logan Valente Colby Washburn Nicholas Zivkovic

The following students are chapter members but were unable to attend the competition; Bryce Williams Veronica Velasquez Kourash Ghourbanian

Vincent Harding Mason Kinbacher Vance Keesler Liam Grecco

The chapter is lead by co-advisor Adam and Anne Nowicki.