homepage logo

Foundation for Lee County Public Schools announces 29th Annual Golden Apple Teacher Award finalists

By Staff | Jan 15, 2016

The Foundation for Lee County Public Schools has announced the 29th Annual Golden Apple Teacher Award finalists. The Foundation’s Golden Apple Selection Committee, made up of community and business leaders, was charged with the task of reviewing and narrowing down almost 300 applications completed by educators.

29th Annual Golden Apple Award Finalists:

Joelle Beverly Bayshore Elementary

Courtney Black Mariner Middle

Stephanie Blanchard Pinewoods Elementary

Leslie Cornwell Cape Coral High

Jennifer DeCicco J. Colin English Elementary

Mark Drew Fort Myers High

Jillian Edel Harns Marsh Elementary

Denise Fenicle North Fort Myers Academy for the Arts

Wendy Fiore Cypress Lake Middle

Gwen Gregg North Fort Myers High

Dr. Virginia Harper South Fort Myers High

Susie Hassett Dr. Carrie D. Robinson Littleton Elementary

Anne Hester Riverdale High

Nichole Howell Gateway Elementary

Karen Kuzer Cypress Lake Middle

Dr. Phyllis Lampman Skyline Elementary

Sandy Lantz Edison Park Creative & Expressive Arts Elementary

Michelle Lewis Lehigh Elementary

Kelly Mains Tortuga Preserve Elementary

Monica Nelson Heights Elementary

Dr. Mercedes Pichard Dunbar High

Wendy Samz Challenger Middle

Quinn Schnabel Diplomat Middle

Jane Short Garland Lexington Middle

Milagros Sowers East Lee County High

Cherie Sukovich The Alva School

Jason Thomashefsky Rayma C. Page Elementary

Ann Tikka Caloosa Middle

Joy Williams Cypress Lake Middle

Christian Lin Zimmerman Cypress Lake High

Finalists are personally interviewed and observed in their classrooms and six teachers are selected as the Golden Apple Award Recipients. The recipients are honored at the Golden Apple Teacher Recognition Banquet, a black-tie affair held at Harborside Event Center Friday, April 8. Rounding out the recognized educators this year are the 73 Teachers of Distinction. These teachers ranked high in the selection process and will also be honored at the Golden Apple Teacher Recognition Banquet and Golden Apple Social. Congratulations to all.

The Golden Apple Teacher Recognition Program was the first major project founded and developed by The Foundation for Lee County Public Schools Inc. Since its inception 29 years ago, as a way to enhance public education by recognizing and rewarding excellence in teaching, the Foundation has awarded 165 educators with the prestigious “Golden Apple.”

About The Foundation:

The Foundation for Lee County Public Schools Inc. is a private, 501(c)3 organization established in 1986. Its mission is to enhance and enrich the quality of public education in Lee County for students and educators through programs, resources, and experiences made possible through corporate, individual, and educational partnerships. The foundation is rated as a 4-star nonprofit organization by Charity Navigator. Find us online at www.leeschoolfoundation.org, on Twitter @FoundationLCPS, and on Facebook.