homepage logo

IWA electing three to board

By Staff | Nov 23, 2012

Its election time at Island Water Association (IWA) and three seats on its board of directors are up for election.

Those three seats currently are held by William D. Carr, Lewis Garrett Dutton Jr. and James M. Griffith. Carr is completing his third and final term while Dutton and Griffith are seeking re-election to second terms.

IWA is governed by a five-member board of directors who serve without pay. Board candidates must be residents of Sanibel or Captiva, in order to attend all board meetings, and must be IWA members or an official representative of a condominium or other IWA corporate member.

Directors must have no conflict of interest, including but not limited to, active involvement in an enterprise which could potentially do business with IWA or which could benefit from involvement with IWA.

Meetings are held on the fourth Tuesday of every month. Board members are elected by the membership at IWA’s annual meeting held in April.

Anyone interested in being a candidate for one of the open seats should contact the board’s recording secretary Beau Stanley at (239) 472-2113 (extension 114) or by e-mail at beau@islandwater.com no later than January 4, 2013.

A background check is run on all board candidates.