homepage logo

Obama, Sheriff Scott win re-election

By Staff | Nov 9, 2012

Incumbent Lee County Sheriff Mike Scott has swept aside the competition in Tuesday’s general election, earning a third term in office.

Lee County commissioners John Manning and Frank Mann retained their seats while Larry Kiker and Cecil Pendergrass were voted to commission seats.

Speaking of incumbents retaining their office, President Barack Obama was declared the winner in the race for the Oval Office over Republican challenger Mitt Romney.

Obama surpassed the necessary number of Electoral College votes by about 11 p.m. though trailing Romney in the popular vote count. Obama later passed Romney in popular votes nationally by the narrowest of margins.

Romney carried Lee County by a 58 percent to 41 percent margin in an election that saw long lines at many polling sites.

With about 99 percent of all precincts accounted for Wednesday morning, Scott claimed 165,853 votes, or 66.02 percent of the total votes cast. Challenger Lee Bushong took second place with 84,802 votes, or 33.76 percent total. Write-in candidate Christian Meister was a distant third with 544 votes.

Commissioner Manning in District 1 and Commissioner Mann in District 5 were re-elected while Pendergrass took the District 2 seat and Kiker in District 3.

Manning drew 191,187 votes over write-in challenger Gerard David Jr. with 7,398 votes.

Mann drew 141,977 votes, or 62.63 percent of total votes. His challenger, Matt Miller received 84,722 votes or 37.37 percent.

Pendergrass received 151,102 votes, or 67.98 percent, compared to John Sawyer III came in second with 70,532 votes.

Kiker won with 141,144 votes over Charlie Whitehead’s 80,540 votes.

“I couldn’t be any happier,” Kiker said. “We worked as hard as I think anybody could, and I think that is why we won.”

He expressed interest in sitting down with his peers to talk about the vision and policy in which the commission will frame their future decisions.

In the U.S. Senate race, Connie Mack carried the Lee County vote, but lost to Democrat incumbent Bill Nelson.

Republican Trey Radel won the 19th District seat in the U.S. Congress, the seat vacated by Mack, over DEmocrat Jim Roach.

In state races, Republicans Lizbeth Benacquisto, Dane Eagle and Heather Fitzenhagen won jobs in the Florida Legislature.