homepage logo

Lee Schools pick first 36 for Hall of Fame

By Staff | Apr 20, 2012

The Lee County Athletic Conference Hall of Fame will induct 36 athletes to the inaugural class in August. The Hall of Fame was created over the past year by the Lee County School District to honor student-athletes and staff members who have made significant contributions to the 13 schools and athletic departments.

“It’s important, as educators and business leaders, to highlight the positives and successes of participants and graduates of Lee County Public Schools,” said Herman Williams, Lee County athletic director. “The Lee County Athletic Conference Hall of Fame is one way to do this. It’s important to remember the accomplishments that our staff members and our graduates have achieved and shine the spotlight on those who deserve acknowledgement.”

Being the first class, each high school selected one inductee for every 10 years the school has been open. Schools were left to decide, based on certain criteria, who would be selected to represent them. Future classes will be chosen by a selection committee, which will elect five athletes and two supporters each year.

Four in the inaugural class represent Cypress Lake, where the majority of Sanibel teens went to high school. None of the four inductees, however, have ties to the island.

The cost to attend the induction ceremony is $150 per ticket, or $1,000 for a table of eight. Proceeds will go to help defray the cost of the event the LCAC.

Inaugural inductees are: (Cape Coral) Bill Beatth, Curtis Kitchen, Colleen Healy; (Cypress Lake) Johnie Church, Jenny Schuller, Charles Griffin, Donnie Ellis; (Dunbar) Robert Green, Melvin Smallwood Morgan, Clarence “Chuck” Mims, Walt Wesley, Thomas Watkins; (Fort Myers) Coach Sam Sirianni, Terry Jo Myers, Jammi German, Eric Riley, Luiza Ramos, Derek Weatherford, Joe Renfroe, Matt Markowski, Pat Putnam, Lamar Payne; (Mariner) Greg Spires, Earnest Graham; (Estero) Anthony Henry, Catherine Cartwright-Tumbleson; (North Fort Myers) Bobbie Dewey, Deion Sanders, Chad Senior, Mike Greenwell, Jevon Kearse; (Riverdale) Roni Hipp, Sammy Edwards, Donna Williams, Karl Engel; (Lehigh) Robyn Anglickis.

Cypress Lake High – Johnie Church, football & basketball, two-time all-state football, NCAA All American at Florida, NFL Seattle Seahawks & Jacksonville Jaguars. Jenny Schuller, class of 1988, three-sport athlete, Rotary Scholar Athlete of the Year, Penn State volleyball. Charles Griffin, basketball, two-time Player of the Year. Donnie Ellis, football, All Area Player of the Year, University of Miami football.

Fort Myers High – Sam Sirianni, football coach 1969-2002, golf coach and athletic director. Terry Jo Myers, class of 1980, golf, won three LPGA golf titles. Jammi German, class of 1993, football/track, all american at Miami, third-round draftee of NFL Atlanta Falcons 1998. Eric Riley, class of 1980, track-football, all american. Luiza Ramos, class of 1991, volleyball, all american. Derek Weatherford, class of 1990, swimming three-time state champion. Joe Renfroe, class of 1941, football. Matt Markowski, class of 2001, wrestling three-time state champion. Pat Putnam, class of 1972, baseball, eight years Major League Baseball pitcher. Lamar Payne, class of 1957, football & baseball.