homepage logo

Chief Murphy named NAACP Officer of the Year Award for 2011

By Staff | Oct 19, 2011

Cape Coral Police Chief B.A. “Jay” Murphy has been awarded Officer of the Year by the Lee County chapter of the NAACP. Murphy was presented with the award at a banquet dinner last Saturday night in Fort Myers.

The chief was commended by the NAACP for his openness and willingness to be inclusive with all members of the community, as well as the overall transparency of the Cape Coral Police Department.

“This award is an affirmation of the hard work of the dedicated staff of the Cape Coral Police Department, both sworn officers and civilian staff, who work tirelessly to keep the city safe in partnership with the members of our community. It is they who have earned the distinction and I am fortunate to accept this award on their behalf with a great sense of humility and pride,” Murphy said.