homepage logo

Sanibel Public Library announces 2011-12 Author Series

By Staff | Sep 23, 2011

Dennis Lehane

The Sanibel Public Library has announced details of their 2011-12 Author Series. Scheduled to visit during the upcoming season are Nancy Taylor Rosenberg on Dec. 8, Jennifer Egan on Jan. 19, Paul Theroux on Jan. 30 and Dennis Lehane on March 1.

Nancy Taylor Rosenberg is a New York Times bestselling author of 14 novels, including the critically acclaimed “Mitigating Circumstances,” “Interest of Justice,” “Abuse of Power” and “Sullivan’s Law.” Her newest book is “My Lost Daughter.”

Jennifer Egan is the winner of the 2011 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction for her newest novel, “A Visit From the Goon Squad.” The novel also won the National Book Critics Circle Award and the Los Angeles Time Book Prize for fiction. She is also the author of “The Invisible Circus,” a novel which became a feature film starring Cameron Diaz in 2001. “Look at Me” was a finalist for the National Book Award in fiction in 2001. Other writings include “Emerald City and Other Stories” and “The Keep,” which was a national bestseller.

Paul Theroux is a novelist, essayist and travel writer whom many critics have deemed “irascible” and “grumpy.” This travel-savvy author defends himself by claiming that his works are ironic, sarcastic, humorous, honest and that really, he is a pretty good-tempered person. He is the author of more than a dozen non-fiction works and more than 40 novels and short stories. Among his award-winning titles are “Picture Palace,” which won the Whitbread Award and “The Mosquito Coast,” winner of the James Tait Black Award. The latter title and “Half Moon Street” were made into films.

Dennis Lehane is the author of nine novels, including the New York Times bestsellers “Gone, Baby, Gone,” “Mystic River,” “Shutter Island” and “The Given Day” as well as “Coronado,” a collection of short stories and a play. Both “Mystic River” and “Gone, Baby, Gone” were adapted into Academy Award-nominated films. His novel “Shutter Island” was adapted into a film by Martin Scorsese in 2010. A graduate of Boston College High School and Eckerd College (where he found his passion for writing), and the graduate program in creative writing at Florida International University in Miami. He earned an Edgar Award and a Writer’s Guild of America Award for his work on the television series, “The Wire.” Lehane occasionally makes guest appearances as himself in the ABC comedy/drama TV series “Castle.”

Tickets for the Author Series are available at no charge to Sanibel Public Library cardholders on a first come, first-served basis; one card per person, two tickets per card. Patrons may receive a maximum of two tickets per person. Make sure your library card is current; or, make sure you get a library card before ticket distribution. Call the Sanibel Public Library at 472-2483 for more information.