homepage logo

Erbrick, Morris advance in District 5 race

By Staff | Sep 13, 2011

Rana Erbrick and William “Scott” Morris are set to face off in November’s general election. The two emerged as the top vote-getters in District 5, which was packed with seven candidates – and no incumbent.

Erick Kuehn currently holds the seat on council, but chose not to run for re-election.

Erbrick garnered 2,356 votes for 23.74 percent of the total votes, while Morris pulled in 2,135 votes for 21.52 percent of the total votes cast.

Richard Leon earned 1,718 votes for 17.31 percent, Bennie Barnes took in 1,596 votes for 16.08 percent, James McManus earned 1,038 votes for 10.46 percent, Carlos Alvarez Del Castillo took in 631 votes for 6.36 percent and Charles Stanton took in 449 votes for 4.52 percent.

Both Erbrick and Morris said they are excited to be moving on to the general election. Both plan on staying with what has made them successful thus far.

“We’re going to be sticking to our pillars,” Erbrick said. “We’re going to keep knocking on doors, walking and being educated on the issues. We may tweak it a little bit.”

Meanwhile, Morris said he plans to keep working hard for the general election and like Erbrick, he’ll likely keep things the same, just with a few new twists.

“I’m looking forward to discussing the issues, running a clean campaign and debating the issues with Rana,” Morris said.

Erbrick has served in a volunteer capacity with the city, both at city hall and as a member of the Financial Advisory Committee.

Morris is a lawyer and has been in the city for 21 years.

All results are unofficial until certified. The general election for the four council seats will be held Nov. 8.