homepage logo

San-Cap Lions announce new officers, board of directors

By Staff | Jun 6, 2011

Francis Bailey, left, addresses the Sanibel-Captiva Lions Club from the podium, followed by Jim Graham, Roger Grogman, Mike Mallon, Cliff Nolan and Dick Travas.

The Sanibel-Captiva Lions Club has elected its new officers for 2011-12.

The island Lions Club’s new lineup includes Rick Siders, who will replace outgoing club president Tom Hoover. Stephen Shimberg and John Mannix will be sharing the duties of club secretary while Les Forney continues as treasurer.

Also, Danny Duncan becomes first vice president and Bruce Cochrane second vice president. Dick Travas continues as “tail twister” and Cliff Nolan as the “lion tamer.”

The new Board of Directors will include Jim Graham, Roger Grogman, Tom Krekel, Mike Mallon, Tom Price, Bill Sadd and Walter Wolczek.

In addition, Hal Theiss will continue to act as the Lions’ membership chairman.

Lions Roger Grogman, Mike Mallon and Cliff Nolan applaud their new club president Rick Siders, center.

The Sanibel Captiva Lions Club has been dedicated to helping the less fortunate since its inception on Dec. 26, 1967. The proceeds from its various fundraising events help support a number of charities. Academic scholarships for handicapped students and programs for the visually impaired are just two of the causes that the Club supports.

To make donations and a full list of causes and organizations supported by the Sanibel-Captiva Lions Club, please visit sanibelcaptivalions.org/fund_raising/contribute.html

Lions Club members Francis Bailey and Rick Siders.

The Sanibel Captiva Lions Club’s outgoing President Tom Hoover, left, and new President Rick Siders.