homepage logo

Ball Busters claim third consecutive championship

By Staff | Mar 10, 2011

Dispatching the One Ball Wonders with ease, 13-3, Bunt’s Ball Busters captured first place honors in the Sanibel 8-Ball Pool League for the third straight year.

Despite at 7-9 loss to third place Sanibel Café, the Fresh Legion Crew took second place. One Ball Wonders, champions in the first year of League play, occupied the cellar.

Attention now turns to the League’s Singles Tournament, to be contested on Monday, March 14 starting at 6 p.m. Spectators are welcome to come to the American Legion and watch the action. The tournament is single game, double elimination, with a blind draw.

Twenty-one league players have paid their $20 entry fees, including last year’s champion, Joe Mason, from the One Ball Wonders. Tom Hensel, tournament winner from 2008, is also a participant.

In addition to Mason, the other top five finishers from last year’s tournament are entered, including Terry Ricotta, Bob Buntrock, Dave Doane, Jack Dalton and John Earle.

The first place tournament winner collects $125 first prize; second place, $100; third place, $75; fourth place, $50; and fifth and sixth place, $25 each.