homepage logo

Southwest Florida Reading Festival boasts big name authors

By Staff | Feb 28, 2011

The Lee County Library System is pleased to announce that a Best Seller List of authors will participate at the 12th Annual Southwest Florida Reading Festival on Saturday, March 19 at the Harborside Event Center and Centennial Park in downtown Fort Myers. The Reading Festival is free to the public and caters to all ages.

“This is an outstanding event for families and people of all ages,” says Margie Byers, Reading Festival Coordinator. “It is important for us to connect with the community and not only bring the joy of reading and literature to Lee County but to bring authors here to interact with our community.”

In addition to the author presentations there will be activities and entertainment, e-library demonstrations, kids’ and teens’ programs, a book for every child and a festival marketplace.

The Southwest Florida Reading Festival brings in nationally known authors from all over the country to incite a passion for reading and love of literature in adults, teens and children. Some of the award-winning authors scheduled to speak at the festival include Nelson DeMille, Linda Fairstein, Heather Graham, J.A. Jance, Ted Bell and Susan Elizabeth Phillips.

The Reading Festival is 100 percent community supported through generous donations, sponsorships and grants. To help ensure the continuation of this free community event, visit www.readfest.org and making a secure online donation.

Complete author information, schedules of festival activities, dates of partner events, directions to the event and more, are available for your convenience 24 hours a day at www.readfest.org or call 239-337-READ (7323).

Entire author list follows:


• Michele Wehrwein Albion – “The Florida Life of Thomas Edison” and “The Quotable Thomas Edison”

• Larry Baker – “A Good Man” and “Flamingo Rising”

• Ted Bell – “Warlord” and the Nick McIver series

• Prudy Taylor Board – “A Grave Injustice” and “Remembering Fort Myers: City of Palms”

• Mary Jane Clark – “To Have and to Kill” and “Nobody Knows”

• Susanna Daniel – “Stiltsville”

• Nelson DeMille – “The Lion” and “Night Fall”

• Linda Fairstein – “Silent Mercy” and “Hell Gate”

• Heather Graham – “Ghost Moon” and “Phantom Evil” (April 2011 release)

• Alice Hoffman – “The Red Garden” and “Practical Magic”

• J.A. Jance – “Fatal Error” and “Fire and Ice”

• Susan Elizabeth Phillips – “Call Me Irresistible” and “It Had to Be You”


• Jennifer Lynn Barnes – “Raised by Wolves” and “Tattoo”

• Ridley Pearson – Kingdom Keepers series; Steel Trapp series, Peter and the Starcatchers series

• Sara Shepard – Pretty Little Liars series and “The Lying Game”

• Cynthia Leitich Smith – “Blessed” and “Eternal”


• Phil Bildner – “The Unforgettable Season” and “The Shot Heard ‘Round the World”

• Nick Bruel – Bad Kitty series and “Who Is Melvin Bubble?”

• Victoria Kann – “Pinkalicious” and “Silverlicious”

• Eric Litwin – “Pete the Cat” and “I Love My White Shoes”

• Rosemary Wells – “Max & Ruby’s Bedtime Book” and “Noisy Nora”