homepage logo

Stars of Tomorrow winners announced

By Staff | Dec 1, 2010

The 19th production of the Stars of Tomorrow Scholarship Program, sponsored by the Cape Coral Council for Arts and Humanities and co-sponsored by the Cultural Park Theatre Co. was given-at the Cape Coral Cultural Park Theatre.
This was an outstanding group of talented youth. There was a record number of entries this year.
The high school entries were larger than ever before. Seventy one students with more than 85 talents entered the competition.
The attendance also exceeded last year’s.
Dick Knapik, the president of the Arts and Humanities and long standing member of the Sounds of Florida stated “it is gratifying to realize the service the Stars of Tomorrow is giving our youth and the community.”
Performances were held at the Cape Coral Cultural Park Theatre. There were two days of competitions. The 66 outstanding talents were winners and came back to the Cultural Park Theatre for a “Command Performance” on Sunday, Nov. 20, to receive their awards.
This is one of the largest Performing Arts competitions in Southwest Florida.
Awards are given by the Council for Arts and Humanities. Awards were also given by the Cultural Park Theater Co. and Sounds of Florida. Special awards this year for first place in dance for every grade level, by an anonymous donor.
The president of the Cape Coral Chamber of Commerce, Michael Quaintance, served as the emcee for the Command Performance. The city manager of Fort Myers Beach, and long time supporter of the Cultural Arts and Musical Theater, Terry Stewart, once again, honored the city with a special musical rendition.
Food was also gathered once again for the Cape Coral Caring Center. The Arts Council encourages all to reach out and give to this worth while community service. The director of the show and past president of the Council for Arts and Humanities, June Sommerfield, “thanks the Cultural Park Theater Co., the Theater Manager, Michel Moran and the whole staff besides all the volunteers and entire community for their dedicated support of this effort of service for the positive direction of our youth.”

Stars of Tomorrow Winners
High School
1 — Tie: Noelle Aparte and Anna Anderson
2 — Stephanie Nelson
1 — Michael Shelly also Razle Dazzle Award
2 — Jessica Westhafer
1 — Tie: Krista Naughten and Brandon Somers
2 — Rebecca Shea
1 — Veronica Stewart and Matt Hembling
2 — Adrianne Oria
3 — Hae-Yang Chang

Middle School
1 — Jasper Walker
2 — Emmy Belcher
1 — Tie: Emmie Bileau also Poetry in Motion and Sammy Flynn
2 — Ginna Appolonia and Erin Suggs
Drama — No entries
1 — Thomas Diller
2 — Keith Ganesh

Elementary School
1 — Alissa Shea
2 — Dominque Matthews
1 — Adrianna Dutton and Broadway Baby Award
2 — Kayla Pizanni
2 — Sasha Baittinger
1 — Alissa Shea
2 — Megan Salerno
1 — Alissas Shea
2 — Megan Salerno

Source: Cape Coral Council for Arts and Humanities