homepage logo

Jennings appointed to League’s Legislative Committee for 2010

By Staff | Nov 23, 2010

Last week, Sanibel Councilmember Jim Jennings was officially appointed to the 2010 Florida League of Cities Legislative Committee by Florida League of Cities President Joy Cooper, the mayor of Hallandale Beach.

The Legislative Committee consists of the presidents of the local/regional leagues, chairs of the League’s other standing committees, members from other municipal associations and the League municipal trusts, chair of each League policy committee and several at-large members who are appointed by the President.

“The Florida League of Cities Legislative Policy Committee makes policy that affects every municipality across Florida,” said Jennings. “The policy made by this committee is very important to Sanibel, thus the importance of a Sanibel representative.”

The purpose of the Legislative Committee is to review the recommended legislative priorities of the League’s five legislative policy committees. Based on this review, the Legislative Committee votes on a proposed Legislative Action Agenda, which is then submitted to the full League membership for its consideration and adoption.

“Last year’s environmental concerns regarding the proposed off-shore oil drilling were addressed by keeping the focus of Sanibel’s strict environmental policies and the economy of our great state in focus,” Jennings added

A member of the Sanibel City Council since 2003, Jennings also serves on the Board of Directors of the Florida League of Cities, the Florida League of Cities Legislative and Resolutions Committees and as President of the Southwest Florida League of Cities. He formerly served on the 2009 National League of Cities Energy, Environment and Natural Resources (EENR) Policy and Advocacy Committee.

In addition, Jennings represents Sanibel City Council on the Lee County Horizon Council, as the alternate of the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) and serves as Council liaison to the Parks and Recreation Committee and the Financial Assistance Committee.