homepage logo

Fresh Legion Crew leads Sanibel 8-Ball Pool League

By Staff | Nov 10, 2010

Fresh Legion Crew vaulted into first place with a sound trouncing of last year’s champs, Bunt’s Ball Busters. Captain Tom Hensel, Doc Lubinski, Gator Gates, Joe Stahl and Doug Conaway all posted victories over the hapless Ball Buster shooters.

What made the Legion Crew win even sweeter was the fact that the Ball Busters played their championship lineup with their snowbird players arriving from Chicago, Ill., Clearfield, Pa. and South Portland, Maine.

Ball Buster Captain Bob Buntrock pledged a better showing next week after his top guns acclimated to Florida’s weather.

Jimbo Gaubatz went 4-0 over Richard McCurry and Matt Hall won 2-0 over John Earle to pace the One Ball Wonders to their 9-7 humbling of Sanibel Café. The win pushed Sanibel Café into second, elevated the One Ball Wonders into third, and eased Bunt’s Ball Busters into last place once again.

The two winning teams from Nov. 8, Fresh Legion Crew and One Ball Wonders, meet on Monday, Nov. 15 at American Legion Post 123. The Wonders are looking to close the gap on the League leaders and perhaps shoot their way into second place. Come on out and watch the festivities!