homepage logo

Sanibel Public Library 2010-11 Author Series to feature Scottoline, Coben, Shreve and Child

By Staff | Nov 1, 2010

Lisa Scottoline

The Sanibel Public Library is excited to announce its 2010-11 Author Series lineup, which will begin next month.

• Lisa Scottoline — Monday, Dec. 6, 2010

Scotttoline is the bestselling author of legal thrillers. Her novels have been translated into 25 languages and boas 13 bestselling titles. Her works include “Final Appeal,” which received the 1995 Edgar Award for Best Paperback Original Mystery, and “Moment of Truth,” which reached number five on the New York Times Bestseller List. Her most recent thriller novel, “Think Twice,” was published in March 2010.

Tickets for Scottoline’s appearance will be released on Friday, Nov. 5 at 9 a.m.

• Harlan Coben — Tuesday, Jan. 11, 2011

Harlan Coben

Coben is the bestselling author of mystery novels and thrillers. The author was born in Newark, N.J. and raised and schooled in Livingston, N.J., where he presently resides. While studying political science at Amherst College, he was a member of Psi Upsilon fraternity with author Dan Brown. His first book was published when he was 26. He then created a series of thrillers about the tales of a former basketball player turned sports agent, who finds himself caught up in investigating murders featuring his character Myron Bolitar.

Coben has won an Edgar Award, a Shamus Award and an Anthony Award, the first author to have received all three. His most recent work, “Long Lost” debuted at number 1 on the New York Times Bestseller List.

Tickets for Coben’s appearance will be released on Friday, Dec. 10 at 9 a.m.

• Anita Shreve – Thursday, Feb. 10, 2011

Shreve grew up on Dedham, Mass. and graduated from Tufts University. She published her first novel, “Eden Close,” in 1989 and has since written 12 other novels. Among her works are “The Weight of Water,” “The Pilot’s Wife” and “Body Surfing.”

Anita Shreve

In addition, Shreve received the PEN/L. L. Winship Award and the New England Book Award for fiction in 1998. Her novel, “The Pilot’s Wife,” became the 25th selection of Oprah’s Book Club in 1999 and an international bestseller.

Tickets for Shreve’s appearance will be released on Monday, Jan. 10 at 9 a.m.

• Lee Child — Thursday, March 24, 2011

Child was born in 1954 in Coventry, England. He attended law school in Sheffield, England and joined Granada Television in Manchester for an 18-year career as presentation director during British Television’s “golden age.” During his tenure, the company made Brideshead Revisited, The Jewel in the Crown, Prime Suspect and Cracker. He lost his position in 1995 due to corporate restructuring and decided to write a book, “Killing Floor,” the first in the Jack Reacher series, and received the Anthony Award for Best First Novel.

Since his debut, Child has produced a new Jack Reacher novel every year. Child moved to America with his wife, Jane, in 1998 and devotes his time to writing American novels.

Lee Child

Tickets to see Child will be released on Thursday, Feb. 24 at 9 a.m.

All tickets for the Author Series events will be distributed at no charge to Sanibel Public Library card holders on the dates indicated above. Seating is limited.

The Author Series is made possible through the generous support of the Sanibel Public Library Foundation, Inc. and its donors.

For additional information, visit the Sanibel Public Library, at 770 Dunlop Road, or call 472-2483.