homepage logo

Burns added to PURRE Board of Directors

By Staff | Jul 27, 2010

New PURRE Board Member Jeff Burns and his new daughter Olivia.

On Monday, the PURRE Water Coalition (People United to Restore our Rivers and Estuaries) announced the appointment of Jeff Burns to its Board of Directors.

“We welcome Jeff, who brings not only a love of Sanibel and Captiva but a lot of energy, enthusiasm and ideas to our board,” said PURRE Chairman Michael Valiquette.

Burns grew up on Sanibel and Captiva and has served on the Sanibel and Captiva Association of Realtors’ Board of Directors, also serving as its treasurer and on its Ethics/Grievance Committee. He is active in community fundraising and was instrumental in organizing last year’s Evening in Italy event for PURRE.

“Jeff has always been there for PURRE when we needed him and has worked hard for us for years,” Valiquette said.

“Having lived on Sanibel since the age of six and swam, boated, and enjoyed these pristine waters for most of my life, I am glad to do what I can to ensure these islands remain the way I remember them,” Burns said. “I’m sincerely thankful there are organizations such as PURRE and am happy to be a part of keeping these islands beautiful.”

A graduate of the University of Florida, Burns earned a bachelor’s degree in finance with a minor in economics. He went on to earn a master’s degree in finance with a specialization in real estate from the University of Florida.

In 1997, Burns was accepted for an internship with U.S. Sen. Connie Mack in Washington, D.C.

Burns was hired directly out of college and became a loan officer for Sanibel Captiva Community Bank. He now works as a realtor with The Burns Family Team, specializing in Sanibel and Captiva Real Estate in partnership with Royal Shell Real Estate.

The PURRE Water Coalition is a non-profit organization committed to improving the health and quality of the rivers and estuaries in South Florida. Its board members include Michael and Maureen Valiquette, Karen Aulino, Sam Bailey, Greg Rawl, John Schubert and Dan Schuyler.