homepage logo

Manning appointed to Lee County Commission

By Staff | Jul 7, 2010

Gov. Charlie Crist has appointed John E. Manning of Cape Coral to the Lee County Board of County Commissioners.
He will fill the District 1 vacancy created by the death of Commissioner Bob Janes.
“As a long-time resident of Lee County with 18 years of public-service experience, John is ready to step onto the county commission and begin working immediately,” Crist said in a prepared statement released by his office late Wednesday. “I am confident he is committed to ensuring Lee County continues to be a great community for families and businesses.”
Manning has been a consultant with the Fort Myers office of Malcolm Pirnie since 2000, according to the statement from the governor’s office.
Previously, he was a corporate benefit consultant for 28 years with both public and private sector clients. He served as a Lee County commissioner from 1988 to 2000 and was a city council member for Cape Coral from 1982 to 1986. He received a bachelor’s degree from Northeastern University in Boston, the release states.
Manning said he is pleased to have received the appointment and looks forward to serving the community.
“I’m very gratified the governor would appoint someone with a long tenure of service to the citizens of Lee County to the county commission,” he said, adding that he hopes he can positively contribute to matters before the board.
Manning said he previously served with commissioners Frank Mann and Ray Judah, and that he has known Commissioner Tammy Hall for many years.
“I look forward to working together as a team,” he said.
The governor’s office received more than two dozen applications from area residents hoping to cull the appointment. The governor interviewed five people, including Manning. Others interviewed included Christopher Berardi, former Cape Coral City Council member; Mike Jackson, former Cape Coral Economic Development director; Carla Brooks Johnston, former Sanibel mayor; and Bob Chilmonik, former Lee County School Board member and a Cape resident.
All five have qualified to run for the seat, which will be filled by the voters in November.