homepage logo

Sanibel gets revenge against North Fort Myers in Team 8-Ball match

By Staff | Mar 31, 2010

The wait is finally over!

The Sanibel 8-Ball Pool League revenged its two previous losses and defeated the North Fort Myers Senior Pool League, 19-13, at Del Tura Community Billiard Room on March 23. In 2008 and 2009 the Sanibel team got whipped 20-12 and 10-6.

Each side selected its top eight players available to play at this annual season ending event for both Leagues. Matches were set by blind draw and each play shot four games against his or her opponent.

Playing for Sanibel were Terry Ricotta, Bob Buntrock, Rich Ennis, Dave Doane, Doc Lubinski, John Earle, Barb Chance and Kip Buntrock. North Fort Myers shooters were Marvin Risner, Jim Jarvis, Steve Moore, Ed Ouillette, Tom Ewald, Al Sutherland, Butch Taylor and Harry Christopher.

Sanibel’s hero for the event was Doc Lubinski. With North Fort Myers leading 10-6, Lubinski won all four from his opponent to tie the score. Rich Ennis took it to 13-11 with his three wins and Bob Buntrock and Dave Doane won six of the last eight games to close out the match.

The Sanibel League played 21 weeks this season, with four teams playing on the only two pool tables on the Island available for public play. The North Fort Myers team has 10 teams from seven North Fort Myers communities. Their League runs 18 weeks and utilizes 16 tables at the various communities to play their matches.

Along with this annual home-and-home event, the Sanibel League ended its season with an Awards Banquet hosted by American Legion Post 123. Town & Country Vending also opened its two tables for complimentary play for a Scotch Doubles 8-Ball Tournament held as part of the banquet festivities.

Cash awards went to the four League teams: Bunt’s Ball Busters $550 for first place; One Ball Wonders $450 for second; Fresh Legion Crew $350 for third; and Sanibel Caf $250 for fourth. Terry Ricotta won an award as the League’s top percentage shooter – at 88 percent – and Bob Buntrock won an award for posting the most 4-0 nights nine out of the 21 week season.

Scotch Doubles Tournament winners were: First Place – Jimbo Gaubatz and Rich McCurry; Second Place – Tom Hensel and Pete Mindel; and Third Place – John Earle and Gator Gates.

League play starts again in October. Contact bobbuntrock@comcast.com or call Bob at 274-7881 to sign up.