homepage logo

Number of applicants for commission seat up to 27

By Staff | Mar 31, 2010

The number of applicants seeking the appointment to the District 1 Lee County Commission seat left vacant by Bob Janes has grown to 27.
In the last week, Cynthia J. Shafer and Raliegh C. Scott have submitted applications to the governor’s office. During the same time, applicant Charles J. Dauray, chief executive officer and chairman of College of Life Foundation, has withdrawn as a candidate for the appointment.
Janes died March 10 at age 78. His district encompasses Sanibel, Captiva, Pine Island and Cape Coral. Gov. Charlie Crist intends to pick someone to fill the seat until the November election, when voters in Lee County can elect a new commissioner to finish Janes’ term. His term is set to expire in 2012.
According to documents from Gov. Charlie Crist’s office, the following people have applied to fill the seat:
— Wayne Daltry, former director of Smart Growth for Lee County
— Bruce J. Scott, former state representative and Lee County commissioner
— John Manning, former Lee County commissioner and Cape Coral City Council member
— Richard Hoffman, deputy sheriff with the Lee County Sheriff’s Office
— Carletha Griffin, owner of a consulting business
— Robert Chilmonik, Lee County School Board member
— Linda Carter, executive director for Emergency Preparedness for the ADA Advisory Board of Southwest Florida
— Nicholas Sacca, formerly of Adecco Employment
— Chelsey M. Perry Sr., retired Fort Myers resident
— Donna Loibl, retired Matlacha resident
— Gerald Finan, substitute teacher
— Christopher Berardi, former Cape Coral City Council member
— Noel Andress, real estate broker and business owner
— A.J. Boyd, former Cape Coral City Council member
— David Barton, former Cape Coral board member
— Donald Devoe Slisher, former Lee County commissioner
— Donald Farrell Eslick, former Lee County committee member
— Paul D. Asfour, former Cape Coral City Council member
— Bill Deile, Cape Coral City Council member
— Mike Jackson, former Cape Coral Economic Development director
— Sonny Haas, retired North Fort Myers Fire Department engineer
— Christian Meister, former candidate for Lee County sheriff
— Susan Janes Flinn, owner of retail businesses
— Carla Brooks Johnston, former Sanibel mayor
— John F. Cataldi Jr., former Cape Coral City Council candidate
— Cynthia J. Shafer, Realtor
— Raliegh C. Scott, Lee County substitute teacher
According to Sterling Ivey, the governor’s press secretary, there is no deadline for submitting an application. The Governor’s Appointments Office will accept them until an appointment is made and each one will be reviewed.
After the interviews are completed with the prospective candidates, a background screening will be conducted through the Florida Department of Law Enforcement. There is no set time frame in which Crist must make the appointment, Ivey reported. It can take from six to eight weeks or longer.