Boating-safety education requirements change for 2010
Boating-safety education requirements changed in Florida beginning at the start of the year.
Boat operators who were born on or after Jan. 1, 1988 must pass an approved boating-safety course and possess photographic identification and a boating-safety education identification card issued by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission (FWC) to legally operate a boat with a motor of 10 horsepower or more.
“We want to encourage everyone, regardless of when they were born, to take an approved boating-safety education course, because all of us can learn something new, even if we have been boating all our lives,” said Capt. Carol Keyser of FWC’s boating and waterways section. “For some, it is now required to take the course.”
There are a few exceptions. For instance, a person born on or after Jan. 1, 1988, who operates a boat within 90 days after purchasing it, does not need a boating-safety education identification card if a bill of sale, which meets the requirements of Florida law, is onboard. After the 90-day period ends, the boat operator needs to meet the educational requirements.
Those who possess a current United States Coast Guard license also are exempt.
For course information and educational requirements, visit MyFWC.com and click “boating,” then click “boating safety.” For other inquiries, contact FWC’s Division of Law Enforcement at 850-488-5600 or e-mail questions to the FWC at firstname.lastname@example.org.