×
×
homepage logo
STORE

Kids to discuss ‘The Puzzling World of Winston Breen’ at library

By Staff | Dec 15, 2009

Youngsters in third through fifth grade are invited to join a book discussion group designed just for them. The group will meet on Saturday, Jan. 23, 2010 at 10 a.m. at the Sanibel Public Library, located at 770 Dunlop Road.

The first book to be discussed is “The Puzzling World of Winston Breen” by Eric Berlin. This is a Sunshine State Book and is popular among this age group.

“Winston Breen is always solving puzzles. Then one day, Winston and his sister find strange puzzle pieces in an antique box and an adventure begins. Soon they are hunting for a long-lost treasure.”

The group is open to third through fifth graders and a parent. If you are interested in joining the group, contact Miss Barb at the Sanibel Public Library by calling 472-2483.

Donuts & Databases returns

The Sanibel Public Library is again offering its Donuts & Databases program.

Each Friday from 10 a.m. to noon, join us for hands-on demonstrations of databases that are available at the library. The demonstrations are at no charge and there is no need to sign up.

The first session will begin on Friday, Jan. 8, 2010 at 10 a.m. demonstrating “Encore and the Sanibel Public Library Web Site.”

Funding is provided by The Sanibel Public Library Foundation, Inc.

Upcoming programs and guest speakers

Wednesday, Jan. 6 at 2 p.m. – Grady Hauser, Passing The Baton: 100 Life Principles

Friday, Jan. 8 at 2 p.m. First Friday Stories for Grown Ups

Monday, Jan. 11 at 2 p.m. – David Kilbride, Musician: Classic Songs for Seniors

Tuesday, Jan. 12 at 2 p.m. – Janina Birtolo as Abigail Adams

Thursday, Jan. 14 at 7 p.m. An Evening with Clive Cussler (This ticketed event is sold out)

Monday, Jan. 18 at 6:30 p.m. – Author Tim Jacobs, H.E. Heitman: Early Entrepreneur of Fort Myers

Thursday, Jan. 21 at 4 p.m. – Author Brian Johnson and artist Myra Roberts: Book signing and art display

Friday, Jan. 22 at 2 p.m. – David Jaffin: Poetry Reading

Wednesday, Jan. 27 at 2 p.m. – Author Nancy Koerner: Belize Survivor

Friday, Jan. 29 at 2 p.m. – Harold Lieberman: Women in Jazz

Holiday hours and closings

The Sanibel Public Library will observe the following holiday hours:

Thursday and Friday, Dec. 24 and 25: Closed

Thursday, Dec. 31: 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.

Friday, Jan. 1, 2010: Closed