homepage logo

Three Lee teachers honored with 2009 Excel Award

By Staff | Dec 8, 2009

Three Lee County were honored for their excellence and received the 2009 Excel Award from former Florida Gov. Jeb Bush and the Foundation for Excellence in Education Saturday in Orlando.
The Lee County Public Schools teachers who were honored are:
* Andrea Garber from Tropic Isles Elementary School and Kathy Himes from Fort Myers High School where honored in the area of reading for achieving the greatest gains with students from low-income families.
* John J. Plesa from Cypress Lake High School was recognized in the area of math for achieving the greatest gains with students who are learning English.
“Once again our teachers have set themselves apart from their colleagues,” said Dr. James Browder, superintendent of schools in a prepared statement issued Tuesday. “These teachers show that no matter what, you can reach all students and help them achieve at levels they never dreamed of. I am so proud of all they do every day for students.”
The 2009 Excel Award rewards teachers whose students made the most progress in reading or math from one year to the next according to annual standardized tests. Students of these exceptional educators learned at least 1.5 times, or 50 percent, more than the average student, based on Florida Comprehensive Assessment Test scores for the last three consecutive years.
The teachers were among 81 honored at the Celebration of Teaching that was conducted Dec. 5 in Orlando. During the ceremony the 2009 Excel Award winners received a package of prizes, including cash and a cruise provided by Royal Caribbean Cruises. The teachers also participated in focus groups hosted by the University of Florida’s Lastinger Center for Learning. Lastinger Center researchers will compile and analyze the data from the teachers with the goal of having the teachers’ knowledge and techniques used to validate and expand the Secrets of Successful Teaching, an online guide to the traits and tools of Florida’s greatest teachers.

Source: School District of Lee County