Bailey’s to debut inaugural collectors’ ornament
In 2009, Bailey’s General Store is beginning a new tradition – they have created their own series of limited edition collectors’ ornaments.
Every year, Bailey’s will issue a new limited edition ornament, depicting a significant piece of our history. Each ornament is made of 24k gold on brass and comes in a Royal Blue presentation folder showing the Bailey’s logo on the front. The folder contains a certificate indicating the limited edition ornament number and giving a brief description of the particular significance of the design. The ornaments, certificates and folders are produced by The Charleston Mint of Brevard, N.C.
Our first ornament commemorates the 110th anniversary of Bailey’s General Store. The business, officially known as Sanibel Packing Company, was founded in 1899 by Frank P. Bailey. Known today as Bailey’s General Store, we are still serving the needs of residents and quests on the islands.
This first ornament depicts the well-known Bailey’s logo in “Bailey Blue.” It is surrounded by a border on which appear the written initials of Francis P. Bailey, Jr. and Sam M. Bailey, sons of the founder and the current owners of this unique family owned business.
The idea for the series of limited edition Bailey’s ornaments was developed by Bailey’s employees Dan Alton and Pat Kiely. Dan and Pat also created the original design for the 2009 anniversary ornament and have presented a number of ideas for additional ornaments to be issued in the coming years.
These ornaments are available for purchase exclusively at Bailey’s General Store.