homepage logo

League of Women Voters of Florida announces Sanibel unit

By Staff | Nov 3, 2009

The public is invited to attend the first organizational meeting of the Sanibel unit of the League of Women Voters.

The meeting will be held at the Sanibel Public Library, Meeting Room 4, on Tuesday, Nov. 10 at 5 p.m. State league leaders president Deirdre MacNab and executive director Peg McGarity will be on hand to launch the new league unit.

Last spring, a group of islanders met to discuss joining the League of Women Voters, a nonpartisan political organization formed in 1920. They decided to form a Sanibel unit. In July, the State board of the League of Women Voters approved the formation of the Sanibel Member-At-Large (MAL) unit, with the opportunity, as the organization develops, to become the Sanibel League of Women Voters.

“We are thrilled to add a new league on Sanibel Island, and provide area citizens with a greater means of learning about critical issues facing Florida and Sanibel,” said state president Deirdre MacNab. “This new league’s work will hopefully expand an already active community of citizens to take an even more informed and active role in their local and state government.”

The Florida league is one of the fastest growing in the United States, and their nonpartisan approach is critical in this time of impassioned debate on complex issues. The Sanibel unit already has 38 members. The leadership team includes the president Carla Benninga, Linda Robison as treasurer, and Linda Kramer as secretary.

Membership is open to all citizens of the United States. Men are welcome to join (some eight already have). Associate membership is open to all. Sanibel residency is not a requirement.

For more information, contact Linda Kramer via e-mail at sanibellwv@gmail.com.