homepage logo

Florida State League lauds Miracle staff members

By Staff | Oct 13, 2009

Florida State League President Chuck Murphy announced on Tuesday the league’s nominations for the annual awards presented by Minor League Baseball. The nominees were selected by the league’s Directors and General Managers.

Fort Myers Miracle Senior Director of Corporate Sales and Marketing Terry Simon has been named 2009 Florida State League Rawlings Woman Executive of the Year. This is Simon’s first Female Executive of the Year Award from the Florida State League.

“I am humbled by this prestigious award and could not have done it without the fantastic team of individuals I work with everyday,” said the 10-year member of the Miracle front office.

The Chicago native was integral in the success of the 2009 Florida State League All-Star Game hosted by the Miracle at Hammond Stadium in June. The two-day extravaganza broke previous attendance records for FSL All-Star Games in Fort Myers.

From football to baseball, from promotions to sales, Simon has compiled an extensive record that spans across sports and geography. She served as the special events coordinator for the Chicago Bears Fan Club before her switch to a successful baseball career.

For the third straight year that the Florida State League awarded the Miracle with the league’s nomination for the Larry MacPhail Promotional Trophy, which is given for outstanding promotional work during the season. One overall winner will be selected prior to this year’s Baseball Winter Meetings in Indianapolis, Indiana for all of Minor League Baseball’s 15 leagues.

“This nomination is a great honor for our entire staff,” said Steve Gliner, Miracle Executive Vice President/General Manager. “We love to be creative and have fun with the implementation of our promotions. The best part is to see our fans enjoy them, and to become a part of what is happening at the ballpark at each game.”

The Miracle had an entire season of “Fun Is Good” promotions in 2009, including two promotions that received overwhelming national attention.

The club offered Julio Osegueda the opportunity to join the Miracle radio broadcast for a one-day job opportunity after his spirited question and answer exchange with President Obama at a February town hall meeting in Fort Myers. The Edison State College communications major made his debut on April 10 and returned a handful of times during the regular season to help broadcast Miracle games.

The creative style of the Miracle promotions team unleashed “What Would T.T. Do” Night that led to another round of national publicity. The annual college football promotion centered on a quarterback from a large Florida university and his folk-hero status in the Sunshine State.

The Miracle hosted the Florida State League All-Star Game for the fourth time overall in June and set an attendance record, with 5,069 fans attending the event. The crowd was the second largest ever in the 48-year history of the event.

The Miracle continued the popular 2008 promotion; “Cheaper By The Gallon Days” in 2009, which offered fans box seat tickets and grill items, discounted by the price of that day’s average price of a gallon of gas in south Fort Myers.

This season also featured the best fireworks displays in Southwest Florida, our annual Education Day, and the ever popular “Big Splash” day at Hammond Stadium. The Miracle also hosted several non-game day events, including Ballpark Festival of Beers, Mini Golf tournament, Miracle Golf Classic, Special Needs Baseball Camp and Journalism Camp for kids.

In addition, the Miracle joined the rest of the Goldklang Group in honoring the 2009 class of the Topps Professional Baseball Scouts Hall of Fame.

“It’s all about the fun. We don’t want our fans and sponsors to experience ‘ordinary’ – rather extraordinary at Hammond Stadium,” said Miracle President Linda McNabb. “It really is an honor to receive this nomination again from our league and is privileged to represent the Florida State League.”

This is the fifth straight year that the Miracle has been nominated by the Florida State League for a Minor League Baseball award. The club was selected for the John H. Johnson President’s Trophy nomination in both 2005 and 2006.