homepage logo

Charter teachers receive Lighthouse Award

By Staff | May 21, 2009

Four teachers within the Cape Coral Charter School system are the first educators to receive a Lighthouse Award for exhibiting excellence in the classroom.
The Municipal Charter School Foundation created the award last year to be presented to teachers in the charter system because those educators are not eligible for the Golden Apple Teacher Recognition Program.
“We did that because the Foundation for Lee County Public Schools wouldn’t recognize charter school teachers in the Golden Apple process,” said Kevin Colpoys, executive director of the Municipal Charter School Foundation.
Donna Artrip of Christa McAuliffe Elementary, Jaime Rothring of Oasis Charter Elementary, Amy Picciolo of Oasis Charter Middle and David Christopher of Oasis Charter High were presented the awards Tuesday.
They each were visited by the principals from their respective schools, Colpoys and Scott Bologna, the president of the foundation.
The nominations and selections process are almost identical to the Golden Apples. The nominees submit an application and receive a number of observations and interviews by the Lighthouse Award selection committee.
Each teacher receives a Waterford crystal figurine — modeled after the famous Cape Hatteras lighthouse — with a lighted stand. It is meant to symbolize a “Beacon for Excellence.”
The winners and residents are invited to the First Annual Lighthouse Awards Ceremony to be held at 6:30 p.m. Thursday at Cape Harbour.
Dr. Wilson Bradshaw, president of Florida Gulf Coast University, will be the guest speaker. He will discuss excellence in education during the ceremony.
Tickets are now available for the awards ceremony for $25 each. Childcare services from 6-9:30 p.m. are being provided by Cape Coral Parks and Recreation for $10 per child. Advanced registration is required.
For more information on the Municipal Charter School Foundation, visit: www.capecharterfoundation.org.