homepage logo

Price captures first place honors in Sanibel 8-Ball Tournament

By Staff | Mar 11, 2009

When he’s not providing great culinary creations for his many customers, Rob Price, owner of the East End Deli on Sanibel, finds time each week to sharpen his pool playing skills as a member of the Sanibel Sharks in the Sanibel 8-Ball Pool League. His time away from sandwich-making earned him first place honors in the Leagues season-ending Singles Tournament on March 2 at American Legion Post 123. Price took home $250 for his win.

The single-game, double-elimination tournament drew 26 of the top players from the 52 players that participated on six teams during the League’s 20-week season. The Singles Tournament is the final competitive event of the season.

Carmen Senese, a winter resident and playing for Legion Post 123, took second place and earned $150 for his efforts. Senese was undefeated until Price came from the loser’s side and edged him two straight to end up as the champion.

Third place and $100 went to Tom Hensel of the One Ball Wonders. Hensel won the tournament last year. Fourth place and $50 was earned by Jimbo Gaubatz of the One Ball Wonders. Gaubatz was the third place winner in 2008. Fifth and sixth places were shared by Dave Doane of Bunt’s Ball Busters and Kip Buntrock of the One Ball Wonders. Each earned $25.

In League play, Bunt’s Ball Busters took championship honors and earned $600. Team members were Captain Bob Buntrock, Terry Colson, Scott Shankster, Don Lee, Buzzy Kozar, Ray Cormier, Joe Ruggiano, Dave Doane, Doug Gentry, Tom Roderick, Dave Buntrock, Kevin Jarrett, Peggy Patterson, Eric Pfeifer, Pete Epranian and John Doran.

Last year’s champions, the One Ball Wonders, hung on this year for second place and $500. Team members were Captain Kip Buntrock, Jimbo Gaubatz, Kelly Greten, Bob Hodosky, Tom Hensel, Matt Hall and Mike Smith.

In third place and winning $400 was the Fresh Crew captained by Doug “Fresh” Conaway. Team members were Doc Lubinski, Thomas Bauer, Scott Marcelais, Vinnie Nastasia, Thomas Yorgey and Nancy Bailey.

Fourth place and $300 went to the Sanibel Sharks captained by Jack Dalton. Team members were Rob Price, Richard McCurry, John Earle, Kevin Wagner and Pete Mindel.

Legion Post 123, captained by Tarzan Russell, captured fifth place and $200. Team members were Kaylyn Smith, Patti Frank, Gator Gates, Barb Chance, Franny Dolph, Carmen Senese, Steve Duerr, Randy Post and Jay Branyon.

Captain Ank Malecha led his Ram Crew to sixth place and a $100 payout. Team members were Brian Welck, Pat Ferrie, Dale Dotzler, Chris Dreyer and Wayne Bolson.

Plans for next year’s season will be made at a meeting of all captains and players from this year plus any other persons interested in playing in the League. In order to accommodate the six league teams this year, a second shift had to the added since there are only two pool tables on Sanibel Island, both at American Legion Post 123. With some changes in league policies, the league could expand to eight teams and larger if more tables ever come to the island. Contact league organizer Bob Buntrock for details or to express an interest in joining a team.