homepage logo

Boynton, Mulka, Bugby and Allen win BMGA’s ‘Sucker’ tournament

By Staff | Dec 3, 2008

The handbook of the Beachview Men’s Golf Association needs only a few lines to explain each type of tournament.

However, the Nov. 25 contest required 18 lines to explain.

Last week’s event was a quaintly named import from Arkansas called “Sucker In The Bucket.” Sure, it sounds like a fishing tournament.

If you play the first three holes without your score being used, it is mandatory that your score is registered for the team on the fourth hole. That’s how you become the sucker in the bucket. Then the rotation begins again.

The pressure of being the “Lone Ranger” didn’t seem to bother several teams. John Boynton, Jim Mulka, Dave Bugby and Jay Allen posted the winning total of 53.

Helmut Peters, Wayne Turner, Dick Croce and Rene Lohser placed second with a 54.

In the nine-hole points event, Stan Sheft won with 15, one ahead of Bill Stell. Al Krause finished third with 11.

The two-man best (or better) ball on Nov. 29 saw Boynton and Lohser winning with a net 55. Barry Humphries and Al Krause were one shot behind while Marty Gallagher and Ralph Barton took third at 59.

Beachview Ladies League

Event results from Wednesday, Nov. 26

FORMAT: Individual Play (Front Net plus Back Gross for 18 Holers, Front Net for 9 Holers)

18 Holers

1st Place — Gloria Waterhouse (81)

2nd Place — Debbie Smith (81)

3rd Place — Rhoda Dickinson (85)

9 Holers

1st Place — Sally Gillett (33)

2nd Place — Judy Maurer (34)

3rd Place — Geri Harrand (36)

The Dunes Golf & Tennis Club

Men’s Golf Association

Event results from Wednesday, Nov. 26

FORMAT: Individual Super Skins

Flight A:

Jack Cohen (Hole #1)

Gene Lopez (#2)

Don Weymouth (#4)

Felix Curcuru (#8)

Don Weymouth (#10)

Flight B:

Jerry Nichols (#2)

Olivier Perrotte (#13)

Bruce Noble (#14)

Bruce Sprinkle (#17)

Olivier Perrotte (#18)

Flight C:

Roy Brodersen (#2)

Mick Denham (#3)

Doug Tudhope (#6)

Hubert Whitaker (#13)

John Frymoyer (#16)

Flight D:

Ed Hannon (#1)

George Koury (#6)

Ivan Davis (#8)

Mike Hnatow (#10)

Fred Nordstrom (#12)

Ray Galligan (#15)

Fred Nordstrom (#17)

Andy Mckelvey (#18)

Dunes Women’s Golf Association

Event results from Friday, Nov. 28

FORMAT: Throw Out 2 Worst Scores

Flight A

1st Place — Noel Barbee (53)

2nd Place — Irmingard Markusch (55)

Flight B

1st Place — Nancy McConnell (51)

2nd Place — Jana Stone (52)

Flight C

1st Place * — Carol Brodersen (51)

1st Place * — Lee Bogan (51)

* There was a two-way tie for 1st Place in this flight

Chip-In Winners: Irmingard Markusch (#3), Carol Brodersen (#12), Irmingard Markusch (#14) and Nan Frymoyer (#15)