homepage logo

Canterbury students receive national Advanced Placement recognition

By Staff | Nov 10, 2008

Five alumni from the Canterbury School Class of 2008 have been granted National Advanced Placement (AP) Scholar with Distinction status. Sonja Bree who now attends Georgetown University, Allyson Gutstein from the University of Pennsylvania, Cassandra Nicotra, who attends Johns Hopkins University, Margaret Vasu, who attends Wesleyan University, and Emma Yudelman from Tufts University, all received national recognition

In order to be named as Scholar with Distinction, students must receive at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken and earn grades of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams.

Additional several Canterbury students were Named AP Scholar with Honor. Students in this category received an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken and grades of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams taken throughout their high school careers

The AP Scholar with honor students are Sean Alexander, Anthony DiBiase, and Ashley Hall who all attend Wake Forest University, Matthew Holt who attends Florida Gulf Coast University and Kelly Mercer and Caroline Zapiec both students at the University of Florida.

Andrew Alea, Elizabeth Chadha, Megan DeFrancesco, Erik Downes, Katherine Huether, Cheryl Johnson, Katherine Kartis, Alexander Kovensky, Nathaniel Liu, Andrew Mehlman and Mary Kate Steinbeck each received AP Scholar recognition. These students completed three or more AP exams with grades of 3 or higher.

Students who take and pass AP courses may receive college credit. Many Canterbury students have entered college with sophomore standing based on AP exams.

Canterbury School, founded in 1964, is an independent, college preparatory school, accredited by the Florida Council of Independent Schools, the

Florida Kindergarten Council and the Southern Association of College and Schools Council on Accreditation and School Improvement.

Canterbury School is located at 8141 College Parkway in Fort Myers. Contact Kathy Edwards, 481-4313 or Chris Fusco at 481-4323.