homepage logo

Primary election kicks off as voters head to polls; Only school board is non-partisan

By Staff | Aug 26, 2008

Cape Coral voters will head to the polls today to select the Republican nominees for key local races, but two non-partisan Lee County School Board races will also be on the ballot.

All voters will be able to choose between incumbent Jeanne Dozier and challenger James A. Middlebrooks Jr. for the District 2 school board seat, and between incumbent Jane E. Kukel and challenger Ray Rodrigues for the District 3 seat.

Republicans, however, will have more on their plate as they decide their nominees for three county commission seats, sheriff, property appraiser and public defender for the 20th Judicial Circuit.

Polls will be open across Lee County today from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. To find your precinct and polling location, or for additional information, visit the Lee County Supervisor of Elections Web site at: www.leeelections.com.

Republican ballots will include the following races:

Lee County Commission

In the District 1 race, Cape Coral Mayor Eric Feichthaler will vie for the Republican nomination with fellow challenger Gerard David Jr. of Cape Coral as they attempt to unseat incumbent Bob Janes of Sanibel.

The winner of that contest will face A.J. Boyd (no party affiliation) of Cape Coral and Carla Brooks Johnston (no party affiliation) of Sanibel in the Nov. 4 general election.

Incumbent Ray Judah of Fort Myers faces the challenge of Anita Cereceda of Fort Myers Beach in District 3. Les Cochran of Fort Myers awaits the winner of the Republican primary in the general election.

Shawn Seliger of Fort Myers will try to unseat incumbent Frank Mann of Alva in District 5. The Republican nominee to emerge from that contest will face Steve Haas (no party affiliation) of Lehigh Acres and Dick Kuhn (no party affiliation) of Fort Myers in the general election.

Lee County Sheriff

Sheriff Mike Scott of North Fort Myers faces former sheriff Rod Shoap of Cape Coral in the Republican primary. Scott beat Shoap in the 2004 election. The winner will face Christian Meister (no party affiliation) in the general election.

Lee County Property Appraiser

Kyle Lee will vie with incumbent Ken Wilkinson for the Republican nomination for the property appraiser’s office. Both candidates live in Fort Myers. Democrat John Glaser of Fort Myers and Larry St. Amand (no party affiliation) of Cape Coral await the winner in the general election.

Public Defender, 20th Judicial Circuit

Brian Boyle of Fort Myers and Rex Darrow of Naples will challenge Fort Myers incumbent Kathy Smith for the Republican nomination for public defender. The victor in that contest will go up against write-in candidate David Brener in the general election.