homepage logo

High Tech North honors students’ accomplishments; Student of Year picked

By Staff | May 28, 2008

Students at High Tech North were honored Friday for their hard work throughout the school year during the recent Student Recognition Program ceremony. The recognition program was for students who earned awards ranging from Student of the Year to excellence in Web design, commercial art, practical nursing and others.

Out of the six nominees for the 2007 to 2008 Student of the Year, 60-year-old John Hotsko won for his work in computer systems technology. Other nominees included Julio Saavedra for CAD, Debbie Pollin for medical coding, Stephanie Butts for commercial art technology, Kala Baran for culinary arts and Patricia Rueth for surgical technology.

The Chamber of Commerce of Cape Coral also presented two awards at the recognition program including a Teacher of the Year award to Jacqueline Houle and Student of the Year to Danielle Slaughter.

The American Business Women’s Association awarded Elizabeth Compton for culinary arts, My Chau Lee for LPN and Arlene McDonald-Belizaire for practical nursing, and the Uncommon Friends awarded Bridgette Crowe with an award for business management and supervision.

An Edison’s HOPE Scholarship was awarded to Megan Clunn who specializes in patient care, and the American Advertising Federation presented “Addy Awards” to April Clary, Zach Jones, Amber Bracci, Asahel Romero and Christine Dove.

Amy Senseman was given the Lee County School Principal’s Scholarship for her work with commercial art technology, and Danielle Slaughter, Karen Potts and Sancionnat Joseph were all recognized by the Health Occupations Students of America.

Earlier in the school year a group of students at High Tech North worked closely with the Lee County Coalition for a Drug-Free Southwest Florida in redesigning the coalition’s Web site. The redesign coincided with the coalition’s Drug House Odyssey hosted in Cape Coral.

Ben Goins, Doug Gaymon, Chrysan Lappano, Paul Chevez, Gabor Szauer, Joe Dubay, Chris Sincox, Josh Cootware, Elijah Curry, Jason Thomas and Anaivette Dominguez were given plaques and letters of recommendation for redesigning the coalition’s Web site.

High Tech North’s Student Leadership Council, led by faculty advisors Bob Gent and Brian Hart, were presented with awards for their hard work, including Rhonda Williams for patient care, Ana Maria Checa for patient care, Natasha Baez for Web design, Johnathan Martin for electronic technology, Noire Nelson for medical coding, Rachel Watford for commercial art technology, Kala Baran for culinary arts, Danette DeRouin for CAD, Meri Jo Grunsted for practical nursing and Amy Cesar for business management and supervision.