Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | Home RSS

Early voting opened over the weekend

August 21, 2018
By MEGHAN McCOY ( , Island Reporter, Captiva Current, Sanibel-Captiva Islander

Early voting for the Aug. 28 Primary Election began on Aug. 18 and runs through Aug. 25 at 10 locations across Lee County.

The polls are open from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. each day during early voting.

Voters may use any one of the 10 following sites:

Article Photos

- Bonita Springs - Elections Office, Bonita Commons #105, 25987 S. Tamiami Trail, Bonita Springs

- Cape Coral - Elections Office, 1039 S.E. Ninth Ave., Cape Coral

- Cape Coral-Lee County Library, 921 S.W. 39th Terrace, Cape Coral

- East County Regional Library, 881 Gunnery Road N., Lehigh Acres

- Estero Recreation Center, 9200 Corkscrew Palms Blvd., Estero

- Fort Myers Regional Library, 2450 First Street, Fort Myers

- Lee County Elections Center, 13180 S. Cleveland Ave., Fort Myers

- North Fort Myers Recreation Center, 2000 N. Recreation Park Way, North Fort Myers

- Northwest Regional Library, 519 Chiquita Blvd. N., Cape Coral

- Veterans Park Recreation Center, 55 S. Homestead Road, Lehigh Acres

The Lee County Supervisor of Elections Office is ready for the primary that includes multiple races for both Republicans and Democrats as well as non-partisan races in which all voters may cast a ballot.

"We had our logic and accuracy test today. Everything tested fine," Lee County Supervisor of Elections Tommy Doyle said on Aug. 15.

There are 436,913 registered voters in Lee County - 187,732 registered as Republican, 118,272 as Democrat and 130,911 as "other."

The Lee County Elections Office mailed 123,164 domestic mail ballots at the end of July to those who had requested them or previously opted to cast their votes that way.

The office started opening those ballots on Aug. 8 with 56,972 returned as of Aug. 13.

Another 2,828 voters cast ballots via early voting, bring the total to 60,148, including three ballots classified as "provisionary."

Doyle noted that voters who wait too long will have to drop off their mail ballots because they must be received by 7 p.m. on Election Day, Aug. 28.

He said the Post Office recommends that the vote-by-mail ballots should be sent seven days prior to Election Day. Doyle cautioned that if they are not received by 7 p.m. they are not counted and will never be opened.

Voters should have received a sample ballot in their mailbox, which is inclusive to them. He said there are three ballot styles, Democratic, Republican and Non-Partisan.

"You can go online and see your custom ballot that you would get on Election day, or by mail, or early voting," Doyle said.

Those ballots can be viewed at

One hundred and twenty-seven polling locations will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Election Day, Aug. 28.

The local races on the Primary ballot include:


- United States Senator: Roque "Rocky" De La Fuente and Rick Scott

- Governor and Lieutenant Governor: Don Baldauf, Ron DeSantis, Timothy M. Devine, Bob Langford, John Joseph Mercadante, Bruce Nathan, Adam H. Putnam and Bob White

- Attorney General: Ashley Moody and Frank White

- Commissioner of Agriculture: Matt Caldwell, Denise Grimsley, Mike McCalister and Baxter Troutman

- State Attorney 20th Judicial Circuit: Chris Crowley and Amira Fox


- United States Representative, District 19: David Holden and Todd James Truax

- Governor and Lieutenant Governor: Andrew Gillum, Gwen Graham, Jeff Greene, Chris King, Philip Levine, Alex "Lundy" Lundmark and John Wetherbee

- Attorney General: Sean Shaw and Ryan Torrens

- Commissioner of Agriculture: Nicole "Nikki" Fried, Jeffrey Duane Porter and Roy David Walker

- State Representative, District 76: Neilson Croll Ayers and David Bogner


- Circuit Judge 20th Judicial Circuit, Group 8: James Wesley Chandler and John Owen McGowan

- County Court Judge, Group 7: Maria E. Gonzalez and David McElrath

- School Board Member, District 1: Charles B. Dailey and Mary Fischer

- School Board Member, District 6: Nicholas Alexander, Lori Fayhee, Betsy Vaughn and Karen Putman Watson



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web